Millefeuille, seeing the light at the end of the tunnel? / La Millefoglie e la luce in fondo al tunnel

millef

A tunnel? Yes indeed, a dark tunnel, from which I will emerge only with the perfect recipe, victorious. Or else I will be condemned to wander in obscurity, maddened by the thought that somewhere out there someone is baking the perfect millefeuille. Continue reading / Continua a leggere…

Spelt, wholemeal and wheat bran bread / Pane al farro-spelta, farina integrale e crusca di frumento

1185207_10152199217878266_1686746403_n

Few days ago I was discussing with Barbara, on a bread baker’s group on facebook , about dough hydration. Highly hydrated doughs scare the wits out of me, and I have disastrous memories of my first attempts at highly hydrated ciabatta. Barbara encouraged me to try and hey, there is nothing as a good challenge to get me going. Since I had been doing very little baking and feeling a bit down in the previous days I decided I needed a proper kick in my backside.
Continue reading / Continua a leggere…